Keep Your Head to The Sky


I am a part of an Emerging Church discussion group here in Charlotte, NC. Its a great group of brothas and sistas. One of the issues that has come to our attention is how we have waxed eloquent in all things epistemological and theological. So…we have decided to have our discussions tempered with reflection on time-honored Christian practices (e.g. prayer, meditation, etc.) and also dialogue about some of the pressing cultural, philosophical, and theological issues of our day. So for my group here in Charlotte and to all of those who feel what I’m sayin I offer this meditation for your personal time with the Master.

Master told me one day
I’d find peace in every way,
but in search for the clue
wrong things I was bound to do

Keep my head to the sky
for the clouds to tell me why
As I grew with strength
Master kept me as I repent

Keep your head to the sky
Keep your head to the sky

Gave me the will to be free
purpose to live is reality
Found myself never alone
changes come to make me strong

Step right up, be a man
You need faith to understand
so we’re saying for you to hear
Keep your head in faith’s atmosphere…

Keep your head to the sky
Keep your head to the sky
– Earth, Wind & Fire

Leave a Reply

