Precious Lord, Take My Hand


Sometimes weariness can come to this young negros soul from reading too much. For the next couple of days I will be spending time meditating on simple scripture and listening to old negro spirituals. I was reflecting on this popular African-american hymn today. This was one of Rev. Martin Luther Kings Jr.’s favorites. If you ever get a chance listen to gospel music’s godmother Mahalia Jackson’s rendition. Its heavenly.

Precious Lord, Take My Hand
Words & Music by Thomas A. Dorsey (1939):
Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on, let me standI’m tired, I’m weak, I’m lone
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home.
When my way grows drear
Precious Lord linger near
When my light is almost gone
Hear my cry, hear my call
Hold my hand lest I fall
Take my hand precious
Lord, lead me home.
When the darkness appears
And the night draws near
And the day is past and gone
At the river I stand
Guide my feet, hold my hand
Take my hand precious
Lord, lead me home.
Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on, let me stand
I’m tired, I’m weak, I’m lone
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious
Lord, lead me home.
3 thoughts on “Precious Lord, Take My Hand

Add yours

  1. Hey! I think we had that book in our old Nazarene hymnal. (though no one would have brought up the fact that it was a negro spiritual)
    I didn’t have Mahalia but there was a little bitty old lady who would sing that song. Every now and then she would get what we called “blessed”, standing up there at her pew with a little white handkerchief waving in the air. She was hardly emerging or postmodern but I believe she was the real thing. Thanks for stirring up that memory.

  2. I’ve always told my wife that I want that hymn sung at my funeral, by a full gospel choir. The full choir part might not be practical, but I love the sentiment.

  3. Have you ever seen the film ” Say Amen Somebody”? It’s a documentary about Thomas A. Dorsey and some other gospel singers. It examines the roots of gospel music as well as gives you a glimpse of the personal meaning it has had for the people interviewed in this film. It is sold on Amazon.com.
    It’s definitely worth seeing.

    kristine

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

