Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith


Me and the kids broke down (actually I did) to go see Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith last night. I am a fan of the Star Wars legacy. Star Wars was the first movie I actually saw or remember as a kid. I was somewhat disappointed with the previous two movies. I still liked them. Don’t want to get into why I was disappointed except to say this last installment of the epic was probably the best out of the previous two. I have read some of the reviews. Its the typical stuff. The script was poorly written. Some of the character’s interaction with each other seemed wooden (like the romance between Anakin and Padme). Aside from the window dressing issues people may have with the movie I couldn’t help but feel like Lucas was up to something. I don’t want to spoil it for you but I was wondering if this installment of Star Wars has more of a cultural message than the previous ones. Of course they all tell a story that has various elements of our culture and history but something about this episode of Star Wars spoke to our current global situation to me. I won’t say more. But here is a line in the move that caught me and stayed with me as I was walking out of the movie theatre:

“Anakin, Siths deal in absolutes!” – Obi-Wan

10 thoughts on “Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

Add yours

  1. Hello Anthony, I came to your blog from Mark Van S’ post on emergent. In it he mentioned the lack of ethnic diversity. I repeated part of his post on my blog: http://charliewear.next-wave.org…I am interested in input from a non-white emergent type…might you come on over, check out the post and weigh in? I would really appreciate it…
    Blessings,
    Charlie Wear

  2. Hey Anthony – I haven’t seen the movie (yet) but I saw an interview with Lucas a coupe of days ago. He referenced what I think you’re referencing. He talked about Vietnam influencing the first Star Wars, and how the current global climate influenced this one.

    I’m looking forward to checking it out. Thanks for the post.

  3. Do you think that everyones fascination with the line comes from our societies addiction to postmodern perspcetives?

  4. just discovered your site. very interesting.

    i enjoyed the film and the political sub-texts stood for me as well; then again I saw the original trilogy as having a political element as well. i do have a rant coming about the the film, but waiting til a few more friends see it, before launching the tirade online.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

