Plight Deepens for Black Men, Studies Warn


A recent article informs us that black men are not fairing well in our society.  I was just recently in conversation with my mother dealing with a topic very similar to this.  She told me about how growing up during Jim Crow and the Civil Rights era black folks of varied socio-economic status lived in the same communities.  She talked about how integration paved the way for middle class/affluent blacks to leave those close-knit black communities for greater opportunities.  This left behind a black under class in mostly urban centers.  What also happened in this black middle class exodus was a weakening of traditional black institutions that were autonomous from the dominant culture.  Anyways…this article gives much food for thought for those of us who are engaged in inner city work or ministry.

ht: Max (when are you going to start a blog man!)

14 thoughts on “Plight Deepens for Black Men, Studies Warn

  1. Ant,

    You got me. There is too much going on out there for yourself, Rod, Broadus, and others to handle all by yourself. I’m in the thick of it right now, but I’m going to get back to this one. It’s too deep to just make quick comments about. Know what I mean?

  2. Here’s a response from my home boy Andrew in Japan. He is an entertainer who left the states “long time ago.” He sent me an email that said:

    Yeah…same ol’ song with escalation… This is why some are for encouraging young minds to learn to detach, do without from the wants in society, because right now societies wants out weigh it’s needs.

    The systems that are designed to ensnare and trap, and then ridicule those who have different needs and desires than the status quo, have been in place for
    decades.

    People become forced to conform and all it does is use up much needed energy that is really reserved for a Divine purpose in life. But we somehow always falter before we get to first base.

    When the older ones take a step to change for good, regardless of what status they hold right now, then we can begin to change. It starts at the top.

    Right now it’s all about “survival of the fittest”, “I got mine so get yours”. Suppression, Greed and Ego are at the top of the list, so it’s no wonder we have arrived to this point.

    It’s sad and a waste just like so many foundations of systems of the world.

    Thanks for the heads up bro!

  3. Anthony,

    Thanks for the post…this is something we all need to consider more seriously. Therefore, I just decided to get a few things off of my chest by giving some brief reflections on this issue over at RBA.

  4. “[President Nixon] emphasized that you have to face the fact that the whole problem is really the blacks. The key is to devise a system that recognizes this while not appearing to.” H.R. Haldeman’s diary

    That “system” is the Jim Crow drug war and its success is emunerated in the reports cited by the New York Times this week.

    In 1970 Nixon, in collusion with the white Wallace right wing of the Democratic Party in congress, looked for ways to neutralize and subvert the electoral empowerment effects of the Voter Rights Act and the, then still in the state houses, 26st Amendment. These laws gave suffrage to anti war and pro civil rights Americans who were in the streets at the time as their only form of redress. Both groups were considered enemies of Nixon and the Jim Crow Crackercrats.

    SEE: Black American suffrage is the enemy
    http://leftindependent.blogspot.com/2006/03/black-american-suffrage-is-enemy.html

    My Friday essay responding to Clarence Page’s essay:
    Plight of disconnected black youths worsens
    http://leftindependent.blogspot.com/2006/03/plight-of-disconnected-black-youths.html

  5. Dear Anthony,

    I heard a preacher in Atlanta this morning talking about how doing the roaring 80s and dot.com 90s, we had both democratic and republican presidents, and black men still did not prosper. What’s up with that man?

    Your brother,
    Max

  6. I can’t speak for the black man and the black man’s plight because I am not one. I have a brother-in-law that is a policeman, a husband and a father. He loves his family and believes in traditional family values. He is a good man, an honest man, a man I am proud to call family.

  7. Anthony just wanted you to know that I thought your blog was great. I really miss you guys an I wish the best for you.

  8. Thanks for sharing this. It gives me more of the education I need as a white person whose understanding of the systemic problems in our society, is thankfully growing.

  9. I understand you are coming from the black stand point, and want to point out this issue from there. I would like to know how that is not more of a social and economic issue. I think it has more recently happened to black america, and that is why it may look like a black issue. I believe that once the middle class influential go to church on sunday morrally decent people move to the subs, it goes down hill. Doesn’t matter the race. I mean wouldn’t the positive be some blackmen and women are living in the subs now. They weren’t a hundred years ago, and the weren’t when MLK jr gave his speech. Now some of those blacks and whites have kids that are going to the same schools, and are playing together. Isn’t that part of The Dream. I understand remembering the past, but how do we move forward until we let go off it. If people honestly want to move forward.

  10. Kalel,

    My point about black middle class flight to suburbia is a part of a much larger reality that has both race and class in the mix. I do not believe these realities to be purely a race issue. My point about ‘history’ is not only a ‘black point’ of view…I don’t know what you mean by that. Maybe you could elaborate on that further. But this point of view is shared by many historians and social theorist regarding the post-Civil rights era…a view shared across the spectrum of ‘race’. So it is not just a ‘black point of view’.

    To suggest that it has nothing at all to do with race without studying the history of race and delving into the deep history I am suspect of anyone who suggests that race has absolutely nothing to do with these reality. I could be wrong…maybe you have studied the history of race in American society from different perspectives. If so, then I’d like to know who you have read. Care to share?

    More recently happened to black America? How did you come to that conclusion?

    Doesn’t matter the race regarding black middle class flight? Integration and Assimilation have race as a part of its alchemy. My point about blacks moving to the subs is not meant to be some kind of moral judgment…I am simply pointing out some of the effects of the black middle class moving out of homongenous black communities in the 60s and 70s. Its a reality we have to deal with in our post-Civil Rights era. Its a reality…not necessarily a moral judgment upon the black middle class families that moved to the burbs.

    I don’t think integration and assimilation have been all bad. I think some positives came out of integration…of course some very bad things happened as well. But the ‘Dream’…what was the Dream. Was it simply for integration? I think we would do well to study King a little more in depth. I’d start with “Strength to Love” by Dr. King. Great read if you haven’t read it yet.

    We don’t more forward by letting go of the past…we move forward by remembering the past rightly. There is a difference.

    thanks for posting your comment.

    pax.

  11. Let me preface all this by saying I have not read the article. I don’t have an account with the Times. So I could be way off on what I read into your discussion with your mom.

    What I meant by “your black point of view” was that we all have biases we see the world thru. I was trying to be sensitive to the way I said that. As a white person I have biases I see the world thru. They cause me to feel like I need to walk on egg shells when discussing racial issues with black people. I was simply trying to say I understood you were speaking as a member of the black community in America. I was not speaking toward historians or socioligists, and their take on things.

    I was, I think, agreeing some what with your mom on the varied socio-economic communities point. I was only trying to expand the horizon by saying isn’t that a truth for all races. Not just the black race. I make the assumption that your mother was saying the moral fiber moved away. Those that had the ability to help moved away. Those that could lead moved away. Is that not what is being said? I was only trying to say white lower class, hispanic lower class, black lower class all have issues and struggles that come from these loses. Not exclusively these loses, and maybe not in the same way.

    My brain sometimes makes connections that I don’t write out, or my comments would go on for ever. So by recent event, I basically meant there are still people alive that remember it. There is not as many people alive that can personnal share about the socio-economic impact of the world wars on white America. Noone can testify to how Native Americans being forced to look and act Europian changed their culture. You can study the Native American plight, and discuss the current effects of being Americanized. Which is probably way different than the drastic, and immediate, change something like the Trail of Tears had on their society. So you as a black people still have alot of people that can say how the 60’s changed things.

    How do you not make a moral judgement? You are talking about people that know what it was like. They got out, or their parents did. Now they seem to have an out of sight out of mind response to the inner city plight. It might by reality, but that doesn’t make it right. Obviously the move out was not wrong. I just thing the lack of help there after is.

    I think “The Dream” was really a spiritual dream. King was a man of God, and I believe he had a vision of God’s reality being lived out in America. I only own a compilation of his speeches and sermons, but I am always up for an interesting read. I guess I was simply trying to say when can we start focusing on the positive.

    All though I minored in sociology, I am probably mostly clueless to who to read on racial issues. I remember, and own, a book I believe with title that had water and well in it. Talking about a black man, with like a dozen siblings, raised by their single white mother in inner harlem. I believe. Also own and read that Abul-Jammal(?) guys book. The journalist convicted of a cop killing that is or was on death row.

    My area of study was psych. I think you cannot move on until you, yes, remember rightly, have closure, and choose to let go and move on. I don’t think I am disagreeing with you. I am, like I said, trying to expand the horizon, and look for the positive.

  12. Your mother makes a valid point and I agree with her to great extent. However, how do we integrate again? What about different mind sets? Do you realize how long it could take for us to find a happy medium with one another? What about taxes? For the people that already live there, taxes are sure to increase. If we are going to re-integrate the black communities, it would have to be a well thought out process. We can not be like Nike. Definitely possible. Do you have any plans of action or proposed solutions?

Leave a Reply

