Too angry to post…


I’m for real.  Pray for me. I can’t watch the news nor talk with people about this. To be honest.  Over the past couple of weeks it has been extremely difficult to comment, write, or blog about what’s going on in the media surrounding the Presidential election.  The fear-mongering and thingification (objectification) of black bodies has been quite lamentable for me. The demon of racial terrorism has just one horn showing up by implying this or that. Mista Charlie is on the rise…and he is as a roaring lion seeking those may devour with the rhetoric of fear and terror.

And the really sad thing is that I can’t talk about it with some folks because they are totally insensitive to the historical present/past and lack the necessary cultural tools to understand black anger in the face of blatant disrespect of black bodies.

Forgive me my sins as forgive others of their sins.

14 thoughts on “Too angry to post…

Add yours

  1. Anthony, I relate to the anger (even though I sit in a different location racially) for I feel it everyday, finding myself wanting to scream, leave the country, and simply give up. There are moments where Bruce Cockburn’s “If I Had A Rocket Launcher” seems very appropriate. I also find myself living in fear that we live in a place where so many people can be swayed by fear and disinformation.

    However, I think you need to write, for how can folks know their sin unless confronted by it. Your passion may overwhelm you, but that passion may also move someone to a new way of thinking, so share it if you can temper it with the love of Christ. Maybe it needs to be a series of prayers for the “enemies” that expresses the pathos while also speaking to the powers and principalities that are driving this election.

    I too am praying . . . for all of us.

  2. …I was just telling the folks at the international issues mtg. tonight that it has been quite a jarring experience the past year and a half to hear folks, in a veiled p.c. way, refer to immigrants as Those People, or simply “them”. Sometimes right in front of my face. It’s hard to talk about the seething anger that I feel, so I know what you feel. It’s been a challenge to my Christianity. As a Tejano, I’ve finally encountered Charlie these past couple years in North Carolina (they don’t talk this way in Texas). Every comment that I get like that (often by well intentioned folks) is a personal affront not just to my ethnicity, but to my honest to goodness Americaness…I have to pray through it.

    Please write about it, because these things need to be said.

  3. I will pray for you and also ask you a question. How does the average white man learn about that black rage that you are talking about. I am not joking, I would like a place to start. I live in small town America, in a rural town of 10,000 that has 3 black people living in it. What do I do? Please e-mail me if you have a chance…thanks for your writing!

  4. Anthony,
    Please write. Process what you’re experiencing in the open so we ca all better process the mess we’re experiencing. This is the first time I’ve commented on your site. In fact, though I used to visit your site regularly, it’s been a while since I last checked you out. But I checked in today specifically to hear what you had to say about all of this because my heart was heavy, and I knew you would drop some knowledge. I understand the anger. I must constantly turn it over, forgive, ask for forgiveness, and forgive some more. I’m prayin’ for us all, but I’m hopin’ you’ll also keep writing about what you are experiencing and learning, and allow us to come along on the journey.

    Perace

  5. (My corrected comment and email)
    Anthony,
    Please write. Process what you’re experiencing in the open so we ca all better process the mess we’re experiencing. This is the first time I’ve commented on your site. In fact, though I used to visit your site regularly, it’s been a while since I last checked you out. But I checked in today specifically to hear what you had to say about all of this because my heart was heavy, and I knew you would drop some knowledge. I understand the anger. I must constantly turn it over, forgive, ask for forgiveness, and forgive some more. I’m prayin’ for us all, but I’m hopin’ you’ll also keep writing about what you are experiencing and learning, and allow us to come along on the journey.

    Peace

  6. Ant, I echo all the voices here. I’m praying, and please write. And Aaron, good questions. Email me; I’d love to converse about your question: philsinitiere *at* gmail.com.

  7. Wow. I can identify.

    I am praying for you, as I am praying for myself in this struggle.

    I’m glad that I visited your blog today. I needed it.

    My meditation: Matthew 5.

  8. I too think you should write about how you are sometimes guilty of the very same “fear-mongering and thingification (objectification)” that upsets you so.

    Here is an example from one of your posts:

    “…many others point out the tragic history of what happens when Christians take matters into their own hands. I’d imagine an example of this would be President Bush’s, a professing Christian, admission that he prayed before going to war in Iraq or from an earlier time period, the Crusades.”

    So Bush is comparable to the Crusaders because he prays about his decisions as Commander-in-Chief. You’ve learned fear mongering well.

    Indeed, “Mista Charlie is on the rise…and he is as a roaring lion seeking those may devour with the rhetoric of fear and terror.” Sometimes we are his accomplices.

  9. I’m writing this months, months later, but I appreciate this blog post regardless. I’m of a different race but I have got a sense that I and my white friends definitely don’t “get it” in its fullest extent, and many…not at all. I find myself sooo frustrated with many of my friends and am searching to find affirmation to prove my ideas that we just don’t get it! And I’m searching to learn beyond my narrow view! I wish I found the blogging world earlier because it’s here that I can find other views more easily, and it’s here that I can learn some things are are tough to just bring up in conversations. I want to be open-minded and perceive beyond my own race. I am so frustrated with the narrow-mindedness of my friends so blogs that speak deeper truths like this one helps me to step beyond my closed-minded enviroment to perceive and learn!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

