Fear and Love


We always have a choice
Or at least I think we do
We can always use our voice
I thought this to be true
We can live in fear
Extend our selves to love
We can fall below
Or lift our selves above

-Morcheeba, music group, song: Fear and Love

A couple of days ago I expressed my anger over the way Presidential politics have been playing out in the public theatre.  A friend commented about this and encouraged me to remember the love of God even in the midst of a politics of hatred, fear, and division. I don’t want to be among those voices that add fuel to the fires of dissolution.  I want to use my voice, whatever voice I have, for the good, true, and beautiful. But how does that look in our current political climate?  How do I remain faithful to the love-agape ethic of Jesus Christ in the midst of red and blue, black and white, male and female?  I am reminded of the passage in the New Testament that reads:
 
God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him. In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world we are like him. There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love. I John 4:16-18
 
Is it fair to say that a Christian in such critical times resort to words of love and truth rather than fear-mongering? Is the Spirit of God saying that words of love and truth are the faithful words we need to hear now?
 
3 thoughts on “Fear and Love

  1. I think that these words of love and truth are absolutely what we need to hear now; in fact not just now but always. But I realize that’s awfully easy for me to say from my privileged white male position, and the kind of love and truth my cultural traditions are used to may not be the same kind of love and truth yours are used to. So speak truth and love no matter what, but make sure to keep the truth part just as present as the love part.

  2. Nowadays, there is a difference between words of “love and truth” than words spoken in love and truth. It is easy to do the first. Luv is a boast. Love is a power. We live in an age where we pronounce our loves easily. We Digg. We heart this. We heart that. We form an identity based on oppositions in this subtle manner. With it comes the opposite agenda. Some might say they love America…but I hear their boast lash of exclusion. Hatred. This is Christian love? When we speak with love and truth we should be destroying the identity agenda of fear and exclusion. That’s how love drives out fear and punishment. It refuses to pummel an identity not its own. It refuses to prop up foils and invent strawmen. Anyway…That’s where I think true and faithful love should go. To understand more broadly than itself, to seek not its own, to belong to all manner of human kind, to seek the dignity of the opposite.

Leave a Reply

