Lectio Divina – John 3: Wild is the Wind


You know well enough how the wind blows this way and that. You hear it rustling through the trees, but you have no idea where it comes from or where it’s headed next. That’s the way it is with everyone ‘born from above’ by the wind of God, the Spirit of God.
– Jesus
In our sacred text intimacy and ‘knowing God’ are one and the same thing. I am usually cautious when using this language to describe relations to God. Largely because words like ‘intimacy’ are wedded to our overly-sexed culture.
 
Knowing God is an intimacy that goes deeper than the intimacy involved in sexual relations. God goes into places, secret places, that no human partner can go. God is never fooled by the various masks I wear to fool people or hide from people. God’s holy kiss is both a terror and a joy. It is a joy because I am held by a love that is more than pure and that seeks my highest good. It is a terror in that it will not let me tarry long in its presence with my false self. I can be false while appearing intimate with another human. But not with God.
 
These thoughts come to me while doing lectio divina in this John 3 passage and listening to a Nina Simone song Wild is the Wind.  In John 3 Jesus describes the movement of the Spirit in our lives as the wind. In particular, the Spirit’s midwifery. We are born from above through the midwifery of the Spirit. The Spirit’s movement is like the wind.  But it is a wind that cannot be easily discerned or named. The Spirit’s movement is unleashable.
 
In Nina’s song Wild is the Windwe are brought into a rapturous recollection of a love shared by two lovers. The lover describes the love for the Beloved and the way the Beloved responds. Of course the lover’s love is wild as the wind. It is un-tame-able and un-domesticated. But while it is not easily captured it is very close. Very close.   
 
These thoughts come to me as Scripture reads me:
 
Wild is the wind…the Spirit’s dance in my life. 
Listing and twirling in hidden places
Turning over lies
Springing forth truth
Lighting my heart
Making my eye single
 
Prayer Offering:
 
My God, with Your holy kiss my life began again.
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

