Slow your roll Emergent morticians…


My friend Steve Knight tells me I should keep an eye on the blogosphere. Apparently there’s been buzz surrounding disappointment of Emergent Village. I’m writing this as I prepare to missionally engage my community this morning. Hoping to spark good conversation and dream up kingdom experiments with a group of folks I’ve been meeting up with here Salisbury, North Carolina. Ever heard of the city? So…I’m getting ready to fuel discussion and nurture an environment for creative kingdom activity in a community that has a gang problem. I’m stoked for the Jesus movement that is emerging here where I live…I’m also excited about the recent activity of Emergent Village 2.0. Alot of planning and strategy going on. I was one of the 24 that met in DC some months ago. So…there’s activity taking place. Christianity 21 with Jopa productions (Tony Jones and Doug Pagitt). And I’m sure many others are doing something emergentesque and missional in their parts of the world. The shift is taking place. Folks are out and about playing their role in this emerging Jesus-movement in the United States and abroad. That’s why I’m curious about the disappointment people are describing with Emergent Village. Emergence are everywhere in the kingdom of God. So…as I step out into the missional stream this morning looking for God’s activity @ the local hub I will pray for those who are disappointed. I pray they find their place in this wonderful Jesus-movement that is sprouting up all over the country now.

3 thoughts on “Slow your roll Emergent morticians…

Add yours

  1. Hi Tony, I’m sure we’ve met but I’ve not commented on your blog before. Today I’m thinking of the Gospel reading for this Sunday:

    Mark 4:26-34

    He also said, “The kingdom of God is as if someone would scatter seed on the ground, and would sleep and rise night and day, and the seed would sprout and grow, he does not know how. The earth produces of itself, first the stalk, then the head, then the full grain in the head. But when the grain is ripe, at once he goes in with his sickle, because the harvest has come.”

    I am very much trusting that the seeds that have and continue to be sown by emergent type folks will lead to a continued kingdom harvest… Let us not be anxious or grieve when the seeds are placed in the soil of mystery. We have very little to do with the germination process. Let’s be faithful in sowing, restful in trusting and ready for the harvest!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑